Television and Miniseries Supported

first_imgFunding commitments to five applicants have been made through the Eastlink TV Independent Production Fund Program. Applications were received between Sept. 22 and Oct. 14, 2016, and were decided upon by the Nova Scotia Independent Production Fund’s board of directors. Funding commitments totaling $755,000 have been approved for the following projects: TV series Addison season 1, produced by Edison Productions Inc., $145,000 TV series Inspector Gadget season 3, produced by DHX – Inspector Gadget Productions 3 Inc., $195,720 TV series Mr. D season 6, produced by Mr. D S6 Productions Limited, $195,720 TV series Pure season 1, produced by Pure Season 1 Inc., $114,180 Miniseries Studio Black! season 2, produced by Studio Black Productions Ltd., $104,380 -30- Quick facts: The eligibility criteria for the program was designed to ensure maximum employment and growth in the Nova Scotia television industry. In order to qualify for funding, the production must meet the eligibility requirements of the Nova Scotia Film and Television Production Incentive or the Nova Scotia Digital Animation Tax Credit. The competitive selection process established by the Nova Scotia Independent Production Fund has two stages: first there is a staff review, which is followed by a board of directors’ judging. All final funding decisions are made by the board of directors of the Nova Scotia Independent Production Fund. last_img read more

Human rights accords receive boost as annual UN treaty event opens

The Pacific island nation of Palau was the busiest Member State, signing up to each such pacts or protocols – part of 34 separate treaty actions taken by 21 countries on the sidelines of the General Assembly at UN Headquarters in New York.Palau signed up to the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination, the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR), the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR), the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) and the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment.It also signed the International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of their Families, the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities and the International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance.El Salvador also signed the ICESCR with a declaration, Montenegro ratified – also with a declaration – the enforced disappearances convention, and New Zealand ratified the Optional Protocol to the Convention on the Rights of the Child on the sale of children, child prostitution and child pornography.Beyond the human rights sphere, Nigeria acceded to both the Convention relating to the status of Stateless Persons and Convention on the Reduction of Statelessness.New Zealand ratified the Optional Protocol to the Convention on the Safety of UN and Associated Personnel and Côte d’Ivoire signed the International Cocoa Agreement, 2010.On the environment, 13 countries signed the Nagoya Protocol, a key text on equitably sharing Earth’s genetic resources and their benefits, while four European Union countries signed a supplementary protocol on biosafety.Suriname ratified the Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants and acceded to the Basel Convention on the Control of Transboundary Movements of Hazardous Wastes and their Disposal.The annual treaty event, which began in 2000, continues until 27 September. 20 September 2011Ten conventions or protocols dealing with human rights received signatures or ratifications today as the annual United Nations event aimed at promoting greater participation in global treaties and international law kicked off. read more

Security Council condemns Abyei killing of tribal chief UN peacekeeper

On 4 May, an attack by ethnic Misseriya pastoralist tribesmen on the UN convoy resulted in the deaths of Ngok Dinka Paramount Chief Kuol Deng Kuol and an Ethiopian peacekeeper, while wounding two other UN blue helmets in the process. In a statement released today, the 15-member Council expressed its condolences to the families of those killed in the attack and reiterated its full support for UNISFA by calling on all parties in the Abyei area “to exercise maximum restraint, to cooperate fully with the mission, and to use mechanisms they have put in place to facilitate an effective investigation” into the acts of violence.In addition, the Council welcomed the Government of Sudan’s announcement of an “urgent, transparent, thorough, and fair” investigation into the incident as well as the Government of South Sudan’s continuing commitment to UNISFA. The attack was the latest episode of violence in an ongoing feud pitting Ngok Dinka farmers against the Misseriya – two groups which have repeatedly clashed in the past, particularly in the area between Sudan and South Sudan which lacks clearly demarcated borders.Due to the highly contested nature of Abyei, a 20 June 2011 Agreement signed by the Government of Sudan and representatives of South Sudan, ahead of its official independence, called for the area’s demilitarization and the establishment of an administrative and police service.The following week, the Security Council established UNISFA to oversee progress on the Agreement, and authorized the blue helmets to use force to protect civilians and humanitarian workers.“The members of the Security Council underline the critical importance of immediate and full implementation of the agreements reached between Sudan and South Sudan as well as the need for continued hard work by all relevant parties to resolve the details and outstanding issues that remain to be agreed, including the final status of Abyei,” the statement added. read more